Special Liturgy Closes Out 2023-2024 Academic Year

Michelle H. Daino
The Mount Saint Mary Academy community gathered for Closing Liturgy in Immaculate Conception Chapel on the morning of May 30 with Reverend Monsignor William Benwell presiding. 
During her Welcome Address, Amelia Benjamin '24 (2023-2024 Student Council Executive Board President) said that her classmates have been transformed into a group of strong and remarkable young women. She commended them on the difference they have made on the Mount community, and encouraged underclasswomen to get involved and not to be afraid of making new friends. She expressed her gratitude to the faculty/staff members who have helped the seniors flourish, and she told her fellow seniors to embrace new challenges because they can conquer them "with their heads held high and their hearts full of mercy."
In her Reflection on the Gospel about the road to Emmaus, Shelby Carmant '24 (2024-2025 Student Council Executive Board President) urged members of the Mount community to go forth and follow the way of God and to spread kindness.
Denise Materia, Assistant Directress and Athletic Director, announced the following awards which were distributed by Sister Lisa D. Gambacorto, RSM, Ed.S. (Directress) and Jacqueline Muratore (Assistant Directress for Faculty, Curriculum, and Planning):
Anniversaries40 YEARS: Denise Materia - Assistant Directress and Athletic Director; 30 YEARS: Joanne Cadigan-Peters - Social Studies Department Chair; 25 YEARS: Dave Cuttler, Manager of Information Systems; 10 YEARS: Matthew Anzalone (Social Studies teacher, Varsity Lacrosse Coach, JV Basketball Coach), Cecilia Kwilos (Database Administrator and Registrar), Tracey Magee (Staff Accountant); and 5 YEARS: Tiffany Firmino (Athletic Trainer)  
Retirement: Sheila Cavanagh - Accounting Manager (December 2024); Irene Hopkins - Alumnae Relations Coordinator; and Kathleen Ketofsky - Student Assistance Counselor
© Mount Saint Mary Academy