Closing Liturgy Celebrates Spirituality, Service and Success

Michelle H. Daino
On June 2, the Mount community held its Closing Liturgy in Immaculate Conception Chapel which was led by Rev. Monsignor William Benwell.
Margaret Ferris '22, President of the 2021-2022 Student Council Executive Board, offered an inspiring Welcome Address. She said that the Class of 2022 has been "transformed into a group of remarkable young women." She thanked teachers, administration, parents and all members of the Mount community for nurturing and guiding the seniors in their successful journey at the Mount. Margaret also advised the underclasswomen to remain involved, pursue their dreams with confidence, and make memories to last a lifetime.
Dena Mistichelli '23, a member of the 2022-2023 Student Council Executive Board, shared a reflection following the reading of the Gospel. While the end of the year can often be filled with stress and studies, she urged her peers to focus on developing and maintaining a strong relationship with God and to enjoy the summer while keeping one another in prayer.   
Following Communion, Denise Materia (Assistant Directress - Student Life and Director of Athletics) said, "We would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to the faculty and staff of Mount Saint Mary Academy for their years of service to the mission of this community."
Mercy Core Values Award Recipients
(Compelled by Mercy, Educational Courage, Inspired by Faith, Principled Leadership,
A Voice for Dignity and Respect)
David Cutter (Manager of Information Systems)
Katherine FitzGerald (Mathematics Teacher)
Ruth Anne Munroe (Director of Campus Ministry, Student Council Moderator)
Kathleen Staudt (Director of Institutional Advancement)
RetirementS. Kathleen McDonnell, RSM
30 YEARS - Gina Pytel
20 YEARS - Dr. Joseph Bonk (Department of English Chairperson)
10 YEARS - Danielle Lovallo (English Teacher)
10 YEARS - Jacqueline Muratore (Assistant Directress for Faculty, Curriculum and Planning)
5 YEARS - Jody D'Amato (Assistant Athletic Director, Varsity Softball Coach)
5 YEARS - Katherine FitzGerald (Mathematics Teacher)
5 YEARS - Kathleen Staudt (Director of Institutional Advancement)
© Mount Saint Mary Academy