Annual Math Competition Held; Saint Helena Wins!

Michelle H. Daino
It was a meeting of the math minds at the Mount during the Annual Math Competition between young women from area schools competing on our campus and young men competing at St. Joseph High School in Metuchen on January 27. Student and faculty volunteers facilitated the event with Jacqueline Muratore (Assistant Directress for Faculty, Curriculum, and Planning) as well as tours for attending parents with Julia Pierce (Enrollment Management Associate).
Faculty/Staff volunteers included: Mrs. Muratore, Miss Pierce, Stephen Muratore (math teacher), Christian Gonzalez (social studies teacher), Vinnie Papandrea (math teacher), Maggie Milej (math teacher), Caitlin Angrosina (math teacher), Timothy Mink (math teacher), Michelle Daino, Tanya Tone, Linda Eckert, Mike Wieglus, John Noblione, Jim Niederhauser, and Juan Alvarez and his team.
Student volunteers included: Bianca Barreto '25, Shelby Carmant '25, Isabella Law '26, Lauren O'Connell '25, Maria Pasqua '26, Zoe Schack '24, and Sabrina Tse '26.
Congratulations to St. Helena School (Edison - pictured in the inset) on capturing the win! The overall highest score was earned by a female student participating at the Mount! Many individual students from area schools took part in the contest as well as teams from Saint Helena, Holy Trinity (Westfield), Saint James School (Basking Ridge), Warren Middle School, St. John Vianney (Colonia), Woodrow Wilson School (Edison), and St. Matthias (Somerset).
Individual Student Awards: 1st Place: Anjali Chauhan, 2nd Place: Julianne Manickam, 3rd Place: Riya Ramani and Adhya Balaji (**TIE for third place)
Student Achievement Awards (top scoring after 1-3 place): Achievement: Annika Jeena, Elan DeSello, Anya Bhavanasi, Mytri Arjun, Sophia Crum, Alyssa Orlowski, Zsofia Kovacs, Rosalie Krenek, Sehaj Sethi, and Olivia Assuncao
School Team Awards: 1st Place: Saint Helena; 2nd Place: Warren Middle School; 3rd Place: Woodrow Wilson School; Achievement: Saint James School, Basking Ridge; Achievement: Saint Matthias; and Achievement: Saint John Vianney
© Mount Saint Mary Academy