Closing Liturgy Concludes 2022-2023 Academic Year

Michelle H. Daino
The Mount Saint Mary Academy community gathered for Closing Liturgy in Immaculate Conception Chapel on the morning of June 1 with Reverend Monsignor William Benwell presiding. 
During her Welcome Address, Renee Vozza '23 (2022-2023 Student Council Executive Board President) reflected upon the perseverance and strength her classmates demonstrated when suddenly faced with the COVID-19 pandemic. Renee said she is confident that the 62 members of the Class of 2023 will achieve great things and impact the world in a positive way. She encouraged the underclasswomen to cherish every moment of their journey at the Mount and to take on new opportunities and challenges. While acknowledging that the seniors will navigate new environments in the fall, she said that all changes are an opportunity for growth and she believes they will each of her classmates will make a mark in the world.
In her Reflection on the Gospel about the road to Emmaus, Theresa Morrison '24 (2023-2024 Student Council Executive Board Vice President) shared that, while we may all have different depths of faith and are on different parts of our faith journey, we should always remain open to learning about our faith. She invited the students - as they prepare to embark on their summer break - to keep their minds open to God and speak the truth about Jesus Christ.
Denise Materia, Assistant Directress and Athletic Director, announced the following awards which were distributed by Sister Lisa D. Gambacorto, RSM, Ed.S. (Directress) and Jacqueline Muratore (Assistant Directress for Faculty, Curriculum, and Planning):
Mercy Core Values Award: Phillip Iuliano, Danielle Lovallo, Ziggy Makowski, and Kathleen McGroarty
Retirement: Kathleen Brennan, Ruth Anne Munroe, and Marian Senior
  • 15 Years: Maria Reina Colon, Isabel Gachko, and Maureen Ziemba
  • 10 Years: Dorothea Kominos and Kathleen McGroarty
  • 5 Years: Catrina Coffey and Lauren Tallmadge
© Mount Saint Mary Academy